Big Chocolate Chip Cookies

24 Jan

My love, and my weakness. My favorite type of cookie? Chocolate Chip. So I’m boring, get over it! The thing is…the chocolate chip cookie can be done in soooooo many ways. It’s near impossible to find the perfect recipe. For the past three years, I was convinced that I created the perfect combination of butter, sugar, flour, chocolate chips, etc. However, my curious eye has forced me into trying new recipes. And now, I am thinking of re-creating my creation!

This recipe, the ‘Big’ Choco Chip Cookie, is delicious. Not much more needed to say. I definitely could use a few tips from this recipe for my new chocolate chip creation. ๐Ÿ™‚

Big Chocolate Chip Cookies

Source: My Baking Addiction

  • 1 c. unsalted butter, cold
  • 1 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 c. light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 c. chopped walnuts (optional)

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until smooth and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time until blended. Add in vanilla and beat until incorporated.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Whisk to disperse ingredients.ย  Add this to the creamed mixture, and beat until just combined. Remove from electric mixer, and gently fold in the chocolate chips.

Scoop out the dough using an ice cream scoop (about 1/4 c.), and place onto a cookie sheet. Leave about 2-3 inches between the cookies since they are large and will spread.

Bake for 15-20 minutes and then place on wire rack to cool. After cooled completely, place in an airtight container to ensure freshness. Tip: these are best when they’re warm! You can place one in the microwave for about 10 seconds to heat up, since I know you’ll be eating these for days to come. ๐Ÿ™‚

Yield: 16 big cookies

Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Big Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Jennifer @ A Busy Nest January 25, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    You can’t go wrong with chocolate chip cookies! I love that you focus on sweets on your blog.

  2. Jacquie January 26, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    OMG are those the cookies you made last weekend! SOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOD!

  3. Renee VanderWyden February 1, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    I just made these chocolate chip cookies. They are wonderful. Very crunchy on the outside but with chewy, creamy goodness inside. Nice recipe honey bee.

    • Renee VanderWyden May 27, 2012 at 9:14 am #

      I just made these cookies again. I’ve tried other recipes. This is the best!!!

Leave a Reply

