Peanut Butter Chocolate Crispy Squares

13 Mar

 

I obviously have an obsession with all things peanut butter/chocolate. This is just a new addition. Pah-lease tell me you will make these soon. SO soon. They are so good. And I will be so jealous of you, because I have given up all sweets for the next 40 days. That’s right, for lent, I have given up sweets. I did the same thing last year, but still allowed frozen chocolate yoplaits and hot chocolate. But not this year! This year I’m not having anything. There’s a 1/2 full box of oreos in my cupboard right now. Everytime I come home they’re calling for me….I can do this!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Crispy Squares

Adapted from Annie’s Eats

  • 6 c. puffed rice cereal
  • 1 c. creamy peanut butter
  • 1 c. honey
  • 1 c. granulated sugar
  • 12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 4 oz. (about 1/2 c.) butterscotch chips

Combine the rice cereal and the peanut butter in a large mixing bow, do not mix yet, set aside. Grease a 9×13″ pan.

Combine the honey and sugar in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Cook, stirring occasionally, just until boiling. Immediately remove from the heat and pour the mixture over the rice and peanut butter. Mix well, until the peanut butter is completely melted and all ingredients are evenly combined.

Press the mixture evenly into your prepared baking dish. Using a double boiler, combine the chocolate and butterscotch chips over simmering water. Heat, stirring occasionally, until the chips are melted and the mixture is smooth. Pour over the cereal and smooth with a spatula. Cover and let the chocolate/butterscotch mixture harden before making a cut. Place in the fridge to harden quicker!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

